19 Years

Today is our 19th wedding anniversary, or 9th, depending on how you look at it. We recommitted to our marriage on our 10th anniversary. Girl was 8 years old, she had a broken foot and I was 5 months pregnant with Boy, our midlife SURPRISE.

Here we are on this day 19 years ago:

IMG_4373.JPG

And here we are on this day 9 years ago:

IMG_4371.JPG

Our recommitment celebration was sort of like our Plan B – except it was totally NOT planned. Our Plan A, or the first half of our marriage was, um, how should I say this? NOT SMOOTH. For various reasons, it was actually quite wrinkly, with some periods of totally hellish hell thrown in there, a few miracles, and a metric shit ton of hard work. My unrelenting fiery personality figured into the equation somewhere too, for better or for worse, sometimes both.

And now, as far as I can tell, we’re one of the most solid couples I know. Most of the time. Not perfect, not AT ALL without the shit couples who do life together seem to have to work though, NOT a fairy tale, just solid. A work still in progress for sure, but with a strong foundation. We fought for it. I guess we grew up together and in the process of riding this wild rollercoaster called marriage, we became a family.

My definition of love was not particularly evolved earlier in my adult life and I have that whole not-good-with-living-things thing to deal with. But I love Husband more with each passing year and I can’t imagine doing this with anyone else, even though it’s really hard, which BTW, people do not tell you before you do it – or maybe they did and we didn’t listen. I don’t remember. Its wonderful too, going through this life with my husband who is also my best friend and partner. It’s both. Hard and wonderful. And we make each other laugh through it all, which at this point is mandatory.

In the immortal words of one of my heroes, OUR FAITH WAS REWARDED.

This photo, with one of my favorite quotes beneath it – WHAT’S COMIN’ WILL COME AND WE’LL MEET IT WHEN IT DOES – was taken 2 or 3 years ago during our anniversary dinner and sits on the bar in our kitchen. It’s pretty much become our motto:

IMG_4372.JPG

Oh yeah, and happy 65th birthday to Bruce Springsteen! Coincidence, I swear.

Leave a Reply

