Rainy Days, Airports and Doctors

What, the sun couldn’t stay out a little longer? We needed another dreary, rainy day to keep us from taking our happy place for granted? God forbid we hear the birds sing or smell the freshly mowed grass or feel the warm spring breeze for too many days in a row because that would royally screw us over, no doubt.

I’m not a fan of rainy days. Shocker. I know a lot of introverts are, but I am not one of them. I need the sun for my mental health and it was a long winter and maybe it’s just me, but it feels like there’s been a lot of rain so far this spring too. So just c’mon. I’m not asking for much, I don’t even care if it’s particularly warm, I just need the sun.

I put Girl on a plane back to Boston today to finish the last 4 weeks of her freshman year of college. She’s doing really well, the biggest news to report being that she was chosen to participate in a year-long intensive honors program next year. And it comes with a stipend, too. Woot. She went way out of her comfort zone to apply for it and it was pretty competitive, so she’s thrilled. Her tailbone injury, sustained when she slipped on a sheet of ice outside her dorm, continues to heal slowly and although I have refrained – per Girl’s request – from directly tweeting the president of her college about his various missteps, I did tweet out into the general twittersphere that I think it would be awesome if he obsessed less about being oppressed by the LGBT community and more about ICE MELT. Apparently that kind of editorial tweeting is ok. I’m still learning the rules. Anyway, I can’t believe her school year has flown by this way, which is interesting because Boy’s school year has NOT. I guess perception is everything because her year has gone so smoothly and as you know, his has NOT. But his has been steadily improving since February, thankfully.

Speaking of Boy, he woke up with a headache and sore throat so I kept him home and took him to his pediatrician after we dropped girl off at the airport. The doctor took one look in his mouth and stuck that doublecottonswabstickthing straight down his throat. Of course he has strep again, nasty this time, with pus and all. Not surprising given his EVEN HIGHER sensitivity than usual the night before last and yesterday morning. Poor guy. And so I’m assuming that means that the “amazing” day he had at school yesterday, the one his teacher emailed me about, might not have been the kind of amazing I hoped for, but instead might have been him starting to feel too crappy to run his mouth nonstop, which was experienced as amazing by HER?

Let’s see, what else? Oh, you’ll be glad to know that in celebration of the Resurrection I finally took down our Santa flag and I colored my hair. Plucked my eyebrows and polished my nails a sparkly turquoise too. I even bought a dress to wear for my reading at the Listen To Your Mother Show on May 9 in Baltimore. And it’s not black either. I wasn’t looking for it, you know how that goes. Why can’t you ever find a dress when you need one and you’re actually looking all over town for one? I have no idea. It’s just a rule. Anyway, I was at TJ Maxx looking for some other random crap, can’t remember what, and as soon as I walked into the store, I spotted the dress and I bought it just like that for $39.99. Didn’t even try it on, I just knew it was meant to be. Reminds me of the time my 4 ft tall metal chicken and I locked eyes in HomeGoods and I brought her home to live with me forever. Anyway, my new dress is pretty much the complete opposite of my typical utilitarian uniform of black yoga pants and sweatshirts, it’s modern and patterned and colorfully bright and it’s fabulous because it will hide the sweat that will be pouring out of my pits on show day. No idea what I’m gonna do about my head sweat but I’m open to suggestions.  I’m thinking of wearing depends too because I always have to pee when I’m nervous and I’m not great at holding it these days. Do you think my spanx will fit over the depends? Note to self to check that situation out in advance!

I have quite a few posts in progress, posts about my travel to Madison and NYC, our Greek Easter celebration, a local hero friend of mine, more about Listen To Your Mother, current events, and other assorted topics that might be viewed as more, I don’t know, substantial than THIS, but I’ve been short on time….and something else….not sure what. Husband thinks that my being cast in the LTYM show is fucking with my head, that I’m feeling slightly immobilized by a concoction of elation and horror. Maybe. So in the meantime, I leave you with THIS. The day to day minutiae of my life. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

