What’s Old Is New

Warning: I’m in distraction mode…providing myself with some PRIVILEGED respite…so if you don’t want to read completely meaningless fluff today, move along. 

I think I’ve mentioned that I have a thing for home design, which in my current reality is code for moving our old crap around. Well, this morning I woke up convinced that we need to buy a fabulous new and very huge sectional for our family room because I’m tired of our old crap, most of which is older than Boy and showing varying degrees of wear and tear. In some cases, the stuff is bordering on just plain ugly. Very unlike me to so impulsively want to buy a big ticket item. Must be the menopause. But don’t worry, I talked myself out of it pretty quickly because it’s not in our budget and then I talked Husband into helping me shuffle some of our crap around, which IS in our budget. Usually I move our crap around all by myself when I’m alone in the house because I’m easily entertained and I thoroughly enjoy it, but since it’s the weekend, I went ahead and asked for help. Husband was a very willing participant and he actually displayed some pretty impressive design flare too, so let us give him an extra high five for that right now. HIGH FIVE!

We moved the big overstuffed green chair from the corner over to the side, kind of like a love seat, and we brought down the diamond chair from our bedroom to go into the corner. Much better visually and spatially, even though we lost a seat. Then we moved the flowery chairs back into the sunroomturnedmainfloorplayroom, which is the location I originally bought them for, and moved the beachy ones that were there up to our room where they’re fine, plus no one hangs out up there, so who cares. Did you follow all that? Here are a couple of after photos, which may not mean anything if you don’t remember where our crap was before.

Obviously, that sofa is NOT pink, but it looks really pink in this photo – especially with the lighting which I couldn’t fix – because it has pink undertones, which I HATE. We’ll get a new one sometime, but for now its fine, especially while Boy is still using it as a fortjunglegymsecrethidingspotforyoudon’tevenwanttoknowwhat.

I’m not sure what I was thinking when I bought those flowery chairs at World Market, the ones in the sunroom/playroom area, but it probably had something to do with cheap. Anyway, I do admit I bought them. In addition to retiring the Ikea orange polka dot area rug from the sunroom to the basement where it belongs, I also swapped out several of the pillows in the family room. It’s a good thing I used to have a pillow problem because I had a pretty big supply to choose from in our storage room.

So, nothing drastic, but still, overall I’m pretty happy with the new arrangement. The only thing missing from this morning’s operation was the part when I get to see how long it takes Husband to notice I moved crap around, or the really awesome part when occasionally he asks, “when did you buy that?” Missed that part, but still, a good morning. What’s old is new. Sort of.

Leave a Reply

